May 5: Decorum-Too

sue hertz decorum too.jpg

Decorum-Too 215 N Cayuga Street, The DeWitt Mall

Sue Hertz, Views from Here and There

This show comprises an array of oil paintings of different sizes depicting local and non-local scenes.  The magical parks in our Fingerlakes region are featured in many, as I’m fascinated by the interplay of the rocks and water and how the same landscape can completely transform depending on the season and weather conditions. My paintings capitalize on the versatility of oil paints, which can be applied thick or thin to achieve a range of effects. In my other life, I am a speech synthesis researcher particularly interested in the acoustic cues through which people perceive and comprehend speech.  I see these cues as analogous to the contrasting colors and textures that I use to bring my paintings to life.

E-mail sue@suehertzfineart.com or visit http://www.suehertzfineart.com. 

